• Home
    • The History of the T ...

The History of the Town Kremnica

Situated in the specious vaulted hall on the ground floor is an exposition of the town's history, administration, handicrafts, and everyday life and as well as the museum itself.

The Kremnica valley had been settled long before the 14th century. The economic reforms of King Charles Robert and the abundant gold deposits in the local mines were the reason for the legal elevation of Kremnica to town status in 1328. The newly founded mint started to produce valuable silver groats and the well-known Kremnica florens and ducats. Kremnica as a mining town went through various stages of decline and relative prosperity.

One of the brighter periods of its history was the first half of the 18th century, when the ruling court again started to systematically support the local mining industry. This tendency was apparent in the visits to the town made by Emperor Francis of Lorraine in 1751 and King Joseph II in 1764. Souvenirs of these visits are presented in a small side room with mirror vaulting and original furnishing.

Námestie v Kremnici

Following another period of decline, Kremnica again experienced a boom  at the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries. In a court dispute with the crown, it succeeded in winning a large forest property. At the same time, the state invested a substantial financial amount into the development of the mines and into building a railway through Kremnica. Apart from mining and minting production, local handicrafts and manufacturing became the third most important economic sector in the history of Kremnica.

Visitors can learn about the most important events of the town's history, such as the visits of emperors, as well as about the town's administration, guild associations, and the everyday life of the townspeople in the past.